(Stillwater, Okla.)  Oklahoma Representative Lee Denney received the 2011 Distinguished Service Award for her support of higher education during a reception on the campus of Oklahoma State University in Stillwater on Friday. 

Oklahoma Chancellor of Higher Education Glen Johnson made the presentation and was joined by OSU President Burns Hargis.  Denney, an OSU alumna, is one of only two state elected officials who have received the award twice.  She also was presented the award in 2009.  Chancellor Johnson said that Denney has been a strong advocate for the needs of the state’s colleges and university.  He said all of higher education is grateful for her leadership. 

Denney earned her Bachelor of Science degree from OSU in 1976 and received her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from OSU in 1978.  The republican represents House District 33, which includes Payne and Logan counties.  She is among 13 elected officials being honored with the award this year. 

Oklahoma State University is a modern land-grant system of interdisciplinary programs that prepares students for success. OSU is America’s Brightest Orange.  Through leadership and service, OSU is preparing students for a bright future and building a brighter world for all.  As Oklahoma’s only university with a statewide presence, OSU improves the lives of people in Oklahoma, the nation, and the world through integrated, high-quality teaching, research, and outreach. OSU has more than 35,000 students across its five-campus system and more than 24,000 on its combined Stillwater and Tulsa campuses, with students from all 50 states and around 120 nations. Established in 1890, OSU has graduated more than 240,000 students to serve the state of Oklahoma, the nation and the world.